Blogia
ladymarjorie

I've Told Every Little Star

I've Told Every Little Star Da-dum, da-da-da-da-da-da-da
Da-dum, da-dum
Da-da-da-da-da-da-da-da
Da-dum, Da-dum
Da-da-da-da-da-da-da-da
Why haven’t I told you

Oh, baby, I’ve told every little star
Just how sweet I think you are
Why haven’t I, I told you

Da-dum, da-da-da-da-da-da-da

I’ve told ripples in a brook
Made my heart an open book
Why haven’t I, I told you

Friends ask me "am I in love"
I always answer "yes"
Might as well confess
If the answers yes

Maybe, you may love me too
Oh, my darling, if you do
Why haven’t you told me

Da-dum, da-da-da-da-da-da-da
Da-dum, da-dum
Da-da-da-da-da-da-da-da

Friends ask me "am I in love"
I always answer "yes"
Might as well confess
If the answers yes

Maybe, you may love me too
Oh, my darling, if you do
Why haven’t you told me

Da-dum, da-da-da-da-da-da-da
Da-dum, da-dum
Da-da-da-da-da-da-da-da
Da-dum, da-dum
Da-da-da-da-da-da-da-da
Da-dum, da-dum


Linda Scott was a pop singer active in the early to mid 1960’s. She was born in Queens, New York as Linda Joy Sampson on June 1st 1945. Her biggest hit was the 1961 million-selling hit ’I’ve Told Every Little Star’. She went on to place 12 songs on the charts over the next 4 years, the last being ’Who’s Been Sleeping In My Bed,’ which was one of the first collaborations between the legendary writing team of Hal David and Burt Bacharach.

Linda Scott was still in high school when she auditioned for Arthur Godfrey’s radio show on CBS in 1959. After having won a place on the show, Linda and other young performers became regular guests on the show. During the show’s run the young singer came to the attention of Epic records and Linda made her recording debut (singing as Linda Sampson) with the single ’In-Between Teen’.

In 1961 she signed with the Canadian-American label, a label that had struck gold with the Santo & Johnny single ’Sleep Walk’. Though still in high school, the label changed her performing name to Linda Scott producing and releasing the hit ’I’ve Told Every Little Star’. The song was originally written by Oscar Hammerstein II and Jerome Kern and was first used in the 1932 production of ’Music In The Air’. That year Scott had a total of 3 top 20 hits. She also wrote some of her own music, unusual for the time, including ’Three Guesses’ which was the B side of ’I’ve Told Every Little Star’ The next year she recorded for both Canadian-American records and it’s sister label Congress records. She also appeared in ’Don’t Knock The Twist’ starring Chubby Checker singing Yessiree’. Though she released several more singles over the next 3 years they were less and less successful. Her last chart appearance was ’Who’s Been Sleeping In My Bed’ released in January 1964, the same month the Beatles made their first chart appearance.

In 1965 she became a cast member of the T.V. rock show ‘Where the Action is’ which she co-hosted with singer Steve Alaimo. Scott’s last recording, ’They Don’t Know You’, was released in 1968 on RCA records and Scott quit show business soon after to pursue studies in theology. She was an army medical laboratory technician for two years and later received a degree in Theology from Kingsway Christian College and Theological Seminary in Des Moines. The Complete Hits of Linda Scott was released by Bay area Eric records and “I’ve Told Every Little Star” was included in director David Lynch’s film “Mulholland Drive.”

http://www.encore4.net/livelyset/closeup/linda-scott/lindascott2.html

0 comentarios